Author Topic: What is wrong with my jaw? Diagnose me please  (Read 2867 times)

alexklem34

What is wrong with my jaw? Diagnose me please
« on: January 14, 2015, 10:44:14 PM »
Here are my pics:
http://imgur.com/a/ZGiFK

(In the third pic, I am jutting my lower jaw forward)

Facts:
I have had braces so I have a good bite.
I am lean, so not over weight.
I don't have a small head.
I think I may have sleep apnea, how much would insurance generally cover?

What procedures would correct this?

« Last Edit: January 14, 2015, 10:55:43 PM by alexklem34 »

terry947

Re: What is wrong with my jaw? Diagnose me please
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 10:46:25 PM »
I'm no expert but it looks like you mandible and maxilla is slight recessed.

ForeverDet

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2015, 02:06:07 AM »
You appear to have maxillo-mandibular recession so while your lower jaw is the primary site of your recession, your upper jaw appears slightly recessed too which sort of makes class 2 bite/profile less obvious. I have no doubt your bite is good in that your teeth are straight with a normalish overbite/jet but in actuality it's been compensated via braces. This compensation can happen naturally too but either way it covers up the severity of a person jaw issues and that's sometimes it's fine. Other times however it leaves the person with significant aesthetic and/or functional issues since their jaw abnormalities weren't corrected.

If you elect to have jaw surgery, you would get braces again to undo what your previous ortho did, this is called decomposition. Not only does this reveal the extent of your bite/skeletal deformity but it also allows the surgeon to put your jaws in the correct place without your compensated teeth getting in the way.