Author Topic: Do I Need Jaw Surgery or Genioplasty? (With Pic)  (Read 32870 times)

sanddunes

Do I Need Jaw Surgery or Genioplasty? (With Pic)
« on: March 27, 2013, 04:08:49 PM »
Hey everyone this is my first time posting.

I have always been unhappy and self-conscious about my profile, and I finally have decided to do something to improve it.   Do I need jaw surgery or a genioplasty, or both? 

I went to a plastic surgeon who recommended a genioplasty, 4mm horizontal advancement and 5mm vertical increase.  He said I could maybe benefit from orthognathic surgery... he thought both upper and lower jaw would need to be moved forward.  But he said it would be very expensive and take a year or two and that I might be better off with a genioplasty for roughly the same asesthetic result.

Here are some pics.  At this point I am confused at what the best option is.  I do have some TMJ and breathing problems, tongue thrust which has caused a little bit of an open bite.  I did have orthodontics about 10 years ago which I think might have contributed to my recessive chin/jaw.

The middle pic of the sketch is what the plastic surgeon said he could do as a before/after with the sliding genioplasty.  I kind of wonder though if 4mm advancement would actually get me the "after" result though.  It seems like I would need more?  Also, I am having a hard time figuring out what a 5mm vertical advancement would do to the front of my face.

Any advice?

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 25, 2013, 03:43:00 PM by sanddunes »

treevernal

• Private
Re: Do I Need Jaw Surgery or Genioplasty? (With Pic)
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 04:40:42 PM »
I don't think a genio alone is right for you and I really do believe you'll be unhappy with the results.  All the functional reasons alone are enough to warrant bimax over just genio but also, your before profile looks better than the predicted one.  Here's why: