Author Topic: Am I a candidate for jaw surgery (honest opinion welcome)?  (Read 4936 times)

alexismg2

Am I a candidate for jaw surgery (honest opinion welcome)?
« on: February 01, 2016, 06:45:58 PM »
Hey everyone, I'm a newbie to the forum. Nice to meet you! I came here today to get opinions from strangers because I feel real confused lately.

Long story short: I've always felt that my face was too long (its much longer than anyone's face I've ever come across who don't have underbites)) but I thought it was normal for some reason. Growing up I never once noticed anything, although I was bullied for having an unattractive face, but still didn't see anything wrong. Both my parents don't have the facial structure that I do, instead they have shorter rounder faces that look harmonious. About a year ago, I started noticing more prominent lines around my mouth area. I'm 22. But strangely, I didn't notice my mouth protrusion at all...which had been there for years. You would think I had because of looking in the mirror all my life but I never noticed. I just thought I was aging terribly due to stress and I started freaking out. When I got opinions from doctors on RealSelf's website about fixing the lines around the mouth, was told by three oral surgeons I would be a candidate for jaw surgery. I literally never once thought that my jaw looked out of place... seemed a tad bit long but I was fine with it. Some people have naturally long faces, except their face is balanced and mine doesn't look so balanced in photos.. Now that it's been pointed out, however, my confidence has went down the drain. I look back on photos after I hit puberty, and noticed when I turned 12 is when my face started growing in weird. Before that, it was the structure of my mom's face (short and round) and balanced.