Author Topic: Money Troubles  (Read 16197 times)

Eroica

Money Troubles
« on: June 08, 2012, 01:36:40 PM »
Well I'm a poor student with around £2000 to my name in savings. My jaw abnormality is sufficiently severe for me to qualify for free surgical treatment here in the UK, but really I would prefer to go to Arnett/Gunson, because NHS surgeons are far from aesthetically minded and generally have little interest in patient concerns or desires. Thing is, coming up with £35000 or thereabouts (which is what A/G charge) just seems nigh-on impossible for me...

How the hell do ya'll pay for this stuff???  :-\ Even if I put everything I possibly can from my student loans and part-time work towards it, it would still take several years to afford this. Just flying out from the UK for a consultation will cost me my entire savings.

I guess my only option is to harass my dad to help me out with some of the cost... but he'll probably just view it as "unnecessary" and "plastic surgery"... (easy enough for him to say, as he has a class I bite/profile)  :(

neferkitti

• Private
Re: Money Troubles
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 09:59:48 PM »
Well I'm a poor student with around £2000 to my name in savings. My jaw abnormality is sufficiently severe for me to qualify for free surgical treatment here in the UK, but really I would prefer to go to Arnett/Gunson, because NHS surgeons are far from aesthetically minded and generally have little interest in patient concerns or desires. Thing is, coming up with £35000 or thereabouts (which is what A/G charge) just seems nigh-on impossible for me...

How the hell do ya'll pay for this stuff???  :-\ Even if I put everything I possibly can from my student loans and part-time work towards it, it would still take several years to afford this. Just flying out from the UK for a consultation will cost me my entire savings.