Author Topic: More Female Patient Examples?  (Read 2413 times)

Eroica

More Female Patient Examples?
« on: June 16, 2012, 04:06:18 AM »
I've been browsing orthognathic surgery forums for three years. I'd estimate that female patient examples outnumber males by at least, like... 200%. Probably more.

Any ideas as to why this is? Do more women opt for orthognathic surgery? Or are they simply more inclined to showcase their results on the internet?

stupidjaws

• CFO
  • The panic the vomit the yuppies networking
Re: More Female Patient Examples?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2012, 05:44:20 AM »
i believe its because females are more self-conscious...males are many times unaware of their own situation

Cmonster

• Private
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2012, 01:49:59 PM »
Interesting subject. I think with many of the female jaw buddies I've encountered they were proposed jaw surgery in their teens, rejected it and are now moving forward in the their twenties, early thirties.

Why does it appear more women have jaw surgery than men? Might be because they are more open to talking about it, sharing etc. It also varies greatly the main factor for having jaw surgery- for some its 100% functional and then aesthetic benefits were a plus, while for others it is mostly aesthetic. Ahhh Im really struggling to find the right words to talk about this !!! In my experience, for men even if your less attractive than the society norm- you can still be very appealing, attractive, by being influential, intelligent, famous, etc etc. I find its harder for women to have much appeal if they are truly unattractive.