Author Topic: Genioplasty - yes or no?  (Read 7017 times)

InvisalignOnly

Genioplasty - yes or no?
« on: September 08, 2019, 12:19:08 AM »
I am a middle aged female with a class 2 malocclusion and gummy smile / upper lip incompetence (see photos attached - will upload x-ray in a separate post). I am in the process of selecting a surgeon in Europe for a double jaw surgery and need some advice before my upcoming consultations. Apologies in advance for my ignorance, I am new to all this.

First of all, I understand that my mandible needs to be brought forward but is the best way to do this in my case in a 'straight line' or is it possible / a good idea to rotate or lift it somehow? Most importantly, do I need / should I ask for a genioplasty? As you can see, I have a weak chin and mentalis strain.

Secondly, I was told my maxilla needs to be rotated, is this the same as Le Fort? (Sorry if this is a dumb question.) Would they also need to do any 'impaction' in this area / remove a part of it, or is that not necessarily the case? I am asking this so I can understand and evaluate what the surgeons will tell me at the consultations.

Thank you for any advice in advance.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2019, 04:09:33 AM by InvisalignOnly »

InvisalignOnly

Re: Genioplasty - yes or no?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2019, 12:21:31 AM »
Here is my ceph x-ray
« Last Edit: October 01, 2019, 03:25:44 AM by InvisalignOnly »

Daedalus

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2019, 12:37:26 AM »
From this point on, it’s truly hard to tell wether you’ll require a genio. I am in a similar situation, however, I had upper arch retracted with braces, in my childhood. You may want to read some replies I’ve got too, so I’ll leave a link:
http://jawsurgeryforums.com/index.php/topic,7810.0.html

Now, take anything I say with a grain of salt but in my perspective, you might get maxillary anterior impaction to deal with a gummy smile and a mandibular advancement with counterclockwise rotation.