Author Topic: Confused more than ever about my case  (Read 1102 times)

Luka2020

Confused more than ever about my case
« on: January 14, 2021, 02:31:53 PM »
First of all I want to say thanks to everyone on this forum who has offered me their advice regarding my case. I am still researching and thinking about all the possible solutions and the more I research, the more confused I get on what are the correct moves to make.

In short: I don't like how my chin looks from the side. It looks recessed. After examining my x rays and CBCT it seems like my actual chin is normal sized, but I have protruding teeth and mouth making the chin look smaller from the side. This has been an aesthetic issue except for the lip incompetence. I was contemplating between genioplasty and braces with premolar extractions. Both would make the profile look more balanced.

However, Looking at the CBCT I noticed an issue that is not aesthetic – a narrow airway. I am not an expert but the narrowest part is in color red, and 127mm2 is also very small based on the info from the Internet.
This raises many questions in my head.

-   Should I be concerend about the possibillity of sleep apnea in the future? I do have daytime sleepiness and tiredness quite often. I sometimes snore but not very often according to my gf. I am 25.

-   Should I completely rule out the possibility of extractions + braces retraction because of the possibility of pushing the tongue further back into the airway or does it not have that effect if the whole jaw is not being moved (like in BSSO)?

-   Theoretically, If I would consider Maxillomandibular advancement after premolar extractions, would I be again on the starting point regarding the airway size? I wonder if bony movements produce different effects on the airway when compared to dentoalveolar movements?