Author Topic: What to expect out of the first consultation.  (Read 2716 times)

candle1112

What to expect out of the first consultation.
« on: September 01, 2013, 11:56:29 AM »
I had my first consultation with the oral surgeon who was recommended to me by one of my doctors and he also takes my insurance. I drove 2 hours and met with him. They took a panoramic and ceth xray and the I spoke to the doctor for about 20 minutes where he said I would be a good candidate for double jaw surgery and that he could do it for me and that I would breath better and look better after the surgery.
He said he didn't want to do anything until I found a good orthodontist in my area (board certified), in fact, he said that he didn't want to call the insurance company until much closer to the surgery to get approval because the approval would be expired by the time I had the surgery.
My question is what should have happened at the initial consultation. (I'm new to this whole jaw surgery thing and don't' know what is usual)?
Shouldn't I have been shown a simulation of how and which way he would move my upper and lower jaws and what type of procedures he would use and by how many mm so I could see what I would look like (even it these simulations are only a rough estimate)?
Should he not have contacted my insurance company to get a preapproval or estimation of benefits or something to see how much would be covered.
Shouldn't I know his treatment plan before I start any orthodontics since the orthodontics will vary depending on what type of surgery he will perform?
He was very nice and seemed competent (has done about 200 orthognathic surgeries), but he didn't talk about any specifics at all.
Guess I need to know if I am jumping the gun and whether what I experienced at the first appointment was the usual thing and that a 2nd appointment is necessary to get surgical details and simulations.

Optimistic

• I am class I
Re: What to expect out of the first consultation.