Author Topic: Have a lot of issues and would like to know what my options are  (Read 3569 times)

a19h92g

Have a lot of issues and would like to know what my options are
« on: February 16, 2014, 11:49:37 PM »
Pretty much what the title says. I'll try to cram as much info in here as possible so that you guys can help me out.

I'm a complete newbie to this kind of thing and after following the Google rabbit hole more and more I stumbled upon this site. You all seem to have a good understanding of issues caused by skeletal abnormalities and how to go about starting down the correct path to fixing them.

First, a little backstory:
I've always had some clicking/popping and occasionally grinding sounds near my ear when I eat/chew but recently I started developing some semi-frequent pains when I eat something chewy or am chewing gum. Basically any time I am moving my jaw for a slightly extended period of time, I get a fairly sharp ache that starts to develop. After some Googling and such I found that I was probably experiencing mild TMJ pain.

Then I looked up what could cause TMJ and one big factor was (for lack of better terms) a screwed up jaw.
I inspected myself closer and closer and I came to the realization that I had a goofy-looking jaw that extended more downwards than outwards.
I kept searching on the subject of longface syndrome and realized that my messed-up jaw was also a major factor in why I struggle to breathe through my nose and must always end up mainly mouth-breathe instead.

I got a little caught up in the issue to the point where I started recalling instances when people have picked at me for looking funny (but I just passed it off as friendly, non-serious, joking about that friends do to each-other) or having a "weird chin" or being a "mouth-breather" or "having a small, funny-looking head"