Author Topic: based upon my photos, which surgery would correct recessed jaw/chin?  (Read 8010 times)

kara1179

Hi! I'm new here, and am not sure if this is the appropriate "sub" to post my question under.... so if its not, please feel free to let me know and redirect me to the appropriate place. :)

Im a 26 year old female, and I have an (embarrassingly) recessed chin and lower jaw. My jaw has always (unfortunately) been shaped this way, as I've seen photos of me as a child confirming this. It's horribly embarrassing to me and have been looking into orthognastic surgery. I, obviously, have an awful profile, but i also suffer from intense jaw clicking and popping, and clearly you can tell from the photos, my teeth are very crowded. Self esteem is definetly an issue, but im also concerned of the long term effects this may have on my oral/overall health. My question is, based upon my photos, what surgery/procedure should I seek consulting with? Whether it be corrective corrective jaw surgery, genioplasty,  chin implant? Or possibly something that I have never heard of?

* also, i understand that it is usually genetics that this trait is inherited (I know also its from certain syndromes, but I do not have them), but no one in my immediate nor distant family have a weak chin, until my brother and I came along. I have a recessed jaw and chin, and he has an awkwardly narrow, weak chin. I have no idea why my brother and were the first (and seemingly, randomly) ones to BOTH inherit this awful trait. I also have two sons (both with two different fathers/exhusband's) that have the same chin as I do.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2014, 12:11:11 PM by kara1179 »

indigochild

Re: based upon my photos, which surgery would correct recessed jaw/chin?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2014, 09:21:24 AM »