Author Topic: Which Surgical Procedures Might I Need?  (Read 6075 times)

kjohnt

Which Surgical Procedures Might I Need?
« on: November 19, 2015, 11:00:43 AM »
Hello,

I'm new to the world of jaw surgery and have been searching various things online, but there is a lot of information and I'm hoping that I can explain my situation and have folks guide me regarding the possible procedures I may need (side note - I wish there were stickies which explained the various different types of jaw surgeries/procedures).

I had braces put on when I was 12 or 13 and wore them for a couple of years.  I wore cervical headgear (nighttime) during a portion of this time to "correct" my overbite.  My bite is now good, but I feel my jaw orientation leaves much to be desired.  I had no teeth removed aside from wisdom teeth.

It has been a depressing discovery process recently as I'm learning that my period of orthodontic work likely left me worse off.  The roof of my mouth is pretty deep.  I have occasional TMD pain on my left side, I believe I probably have sleep apnea but have yet to be tested, and I try to breathe through my nose but I feel as though I can get more air via my mouth and I find myself breathing through my mouth.  I mouth-breathe when sleeping.  Last but certainly not least, I feel I have a long-ish face and slightly recessed chin.  Before braces, I felt I was good-looking and constantly received attention from girls at school.  Since then, some consider me good-looking, but I've always known something was off.  At first I thought my nose was too big.  Then I realized my nose is good but it's actually my under-projecting chin which makes my nose appear larger.  Now I'm realizing it's the entire orientation of my jaws/face.  It's as though a regular face might look like this from the side profile "\" and mine slightly looks like this ")" if that makes any sense.