Author Topic: Talked to max fac surgeon today. I'm freaking out :(  (Read 2753 times)

Picollo30

Talked to max fac surgeon today. I'm freaking out :(
« on: February 26, 2016, 09:22:15 AM »
Hi guys

Talked to my surgeon today and came home full of doubts in my head, he scared me a bit to be honest, but i really want to go forward with this, fyi i'm 40, male, had a camouflage treatment for a class II retrognathia, i've been using braces for 5 years. I have retruded chin, and mandibular micrognathia also an obvious facial assymetry where my face is fuller on the left side and the right side is totally different.

Those are the aesthetic problems, then through a sleep study i found out i have severe OSAS and through ceph an airway of only 4 mm, the obvious reason for my sleep apnea problems, i'm not even fat, think its a family thing, my brother who looks like me has it too.
I have asthma, high blood pressure and now OSA which i think is the main cause of all my problems.

Started using C-PAP August last year because i was like a walking zombie through the whole day, i would sleep everywhere, watching a movie, reading a book, at work or even while driving.

C-PAP use has been terrible for me, adapting to it and the health problems it's giving me GERD (Gastroesophageal reflux disease), with symptoms like hearturn, regurgitation, pain in my chest and a burning sensation in my right lung, vomiting, respiratory problems,etc.

I decided i need to change something so i went to see this maxfac who gave me a MMA treatment plan consisting of BSSRO + Lefort I with impaction + CCW mandibular rotation. He made me take a ceph which i will attach in this post. This was last year

Today this how the conversation went

Surgeon: Are you sure you want to go trough this? What do you want to achieve, an aesthetic improvement or a cure for OSA_?

Me: Both if possible, cure of OSA and get the best aesthetic results possible with the surgery