Author Topic: Can You Guys Analyze My CTP?  (Read 3770 times)

sushilover2

Can You Guys Analyze My CTP?
« on: April 16, 2016, 07:22:26 PM »
Hi everyone,

Had my consultation for jaw surgery with Dr. Gunson recently and strangely, he did NOT recommend jaw surgery, rather an ortho only approach. To be fair, I'm doing this mostly for aesthetic reasons, but was still disappointed he advised not operating.

That said, can you guys take a look at the simulated CTP she give me your thoughts? Should I still push to do it?

[attachment deleted by admin]

april

• Private
Re: Can You Guys Analyze My CTP?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2016, 07:51:41 PM »
Looks like we have similar profiles.

What would orth-only possibly do? Did he say?

sushilover2

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2016, 07:56:14 PM »
Looks like we have similar profiles.

What would orth-only possibly do? Did he say?

Correct the bite.

april

• Private
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2016, 09:20:54 PM »
I meant to your profile. I'm no expert but your bite doesnt look too bad, so I assumed it was to change your profile. What was your main concern going in?

Were you wearing a wax bite in for the ceph xray? Is your profile like that usually? I might be completely wrong but one thing I've noticed is that A&G tracings are sometimes slightly more retruded than others'. I think it's to do with being put into centric relation for the records (including xrays) as opposed to a habitual bite. Has anyone else noticed that? Or do all surgeons do a wax bite for xrays at the pre-surgical consult?

And it's a tough call. I'm in a somewhat similar boat. It's great you have a non-surgical option but it really comes down to what your main concern is and if ortho alone can correct it.

PloskoPlus

« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2016, 01:45:36 AM »
Correct the bite.
Congratulations.  I recently contacted Gunson about revision jaw surgery half-hoping that I will be turned down.  I was told that I am definitely a surgery case.  FWIW, my bite is perfect.