Author Topic: Looking for feedback on my lower-third. What's wrong with it? How can I fix it?  (Read 1730 times)

surgerymax94

Hello all.

First time posting here - sorry if this is in the wrong place (please point me in the right direction if so).

For background - I am 24, never had braces, been a mouthbreather since I was a kid. I've always been self-conscious about my appearance, but in the last year or so I've been putting in the research as to which specific features are making me ugly.

In my opinion, the jaw and chin area are destroying my face. I am not an expert on this stuff, but it looks to me like my jaw is recessed and my chin is very weak.

If anyone could give feedback on my photos and suggest potential solutions, I'd really appreciate it.

surgerymax94

This photo shows my jowls/cheek fat more clearly.

Dogmatix

• Private
What matters most is your opinion and how you feel. If you feel strongly that your chin is destroying your face and that this consumes you, there is room to have it advanced.

It's not as easy to just walk in and say you want it advanced, there are several aspects to consider. Like your bite and airways.

Simplest solution is jaw implant or genioplasty. These are procedures that doesn't alter the bite and can be done straight away. But, if you have a class II bite, or narrow airways, I would never advice for such solution. Always start from the bottom and fix the underlying problems if there are any.

These are decissions that fast can escalate to several years of braces and a big surgery, you need to decide how important this is for you and what you're willing to go through.

surgerymax94

What matters most is your opinion and how you feel. If you feel strongly that your chin is destroying your face and that this consumes you, there is room to have it advanced.

It's not as easy to just walk in and say you want it advanced, there are several aspects to consider. Like your bite and airways.