Author Topic: Openbite  (Read 2646 times)

Gadwins

• Private
Openbite
« on: September 25, 2019, 05:08:27 PM »
Hello dear Community,

At first I apologize for my English. I'm a simple physicist from germany (mid 20's old) and never learned to speak proper English. I hope that I will be still understandable.

I have a strong open bite (6mm), but my main goal is to improve my aesthetic. I am very unhappy about my Lip incompetence, so my chin seems to be very weak. Also I am unhappy about my proclaimed upper teeth.

In germany it is difficult to find orthodontics who are willing to treat me. Still I managed to find 3 orthodontics who want to treat me in different ways:

1. Wants to extract all my 4 molars and pull the upper teeth back, but pull my 7Th and 8th forward in the bottom jaw. Then I should undergo a bimax.
2. Palatale Expansion to get 5mm more space in the upper jaw. Then I should under a bimax.
3. Palatale Expansion, but no bimax. He wants to strip 2mm at the bottom jaw at my premolars and intrude my 6th molars and pull a little bit my upper teeth out to close my open bite.

Nobody could explain me what would be the best asthetical outcome. They just say it is not predictable. I really don't care about closing my open bite. I just want to have a normal profile with a chin. I would even undergo a chin surgery or chin wing if that is needed.

In Germany many Jawsurgerist don't care about asthetics. There is one guy, Dr. Kater, who does care. But he doesn't explain how I will look after the surgery. He said, it is not predictable. I didn't visit Dr. Zarrinbal, because he is a little far away and it would be my last choice.

Of course I don't want to sacrifice some good looking features of my face.