Author Topic: procedure to cure a high MP angle with mandibular inferior contour issues?  (Read 1267 times)

XXRyanXXL

I have a high MP angle, 46 degrees, with OP of 12 degrees, with long face syndrome caused by mouth breathing at a earlier age. I am now 40 years old. My dentist noticed facial deformities by the time I was 13 but nothing was done to address the issue. I recently had a BSSO to just correct a 12 mm overbite.
I was recommended to have double jaw surgery to have CCW rotation with posterior downgrafting. The rotation that is suggested is through an inverted-L osteo, posterior downgrafting with maxilla impaction and BSSO to set backwards to offset the rotational movement of the upper bone. I however have another issue.
Not only do I have mandibular inferior bony contour issues, I have a high MP angle caused by downward growth of the mandible. I am using photos available from the internet that is related to my xrays. These were available from nycoms.com. Besides any rotation, is there any way to address this steep slope of the downward growing mandible bone? Would a chin reduction address some of this issue?

PloskoPlus

Re: procedure to cure a high MP angle with mandibular inferior contour issues?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2022, 05:36:08 PM »
How healthy are your joints? CCW-r could make them worse.

thedude

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2022, 11:54:25 AM »
How healthy are your joints? CCW-r could make them worse.

How does CCW put more stress on the joints? I’ve never heard this before.

GJ

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2022, 12:43:58 PM »
How does CCW put more stress on the joints? I’ve never heard this before.

Basically the muscles pulling the jaw back into the original position. This generally only happens with extreme movements. There will always be remodeling of the joints of some type, and the more extreme the movement, the more of this you generally get.
Millimeters are miles on the face.

PloskoPlus